I’ve been considering reading It’s Good to be Queen by Liz Curtis Higgs but just haven’t gotten around to getting my hands on the book. I even went so far as to sign up for the online study. Still I didn’t purchase the book. But I keep thinking about it, which tells me it will not be a waste of time. 

This morning I received an extra prompt in my email with a link to a video on Vimeo with Liz teaching on chapter one. I clicked the link and was pleased to see the video was 11 minutes long. (Keep in mind if I possessed a longer attention span, I would have stayed focused long enough to have bought the book by now.)

Previously I had wondered to myself how anyone could write an entire book on only 13 verses of the bible. But guess what? The entire 11 minutes was on verse one. And it was incredibly captivating.

My own version of the story had always followed these lines: Incredibly wealthy supreme ruler queen gets bored and decides to seek out the “wise guy” everybody is talking about. She hangs out in his kingdom for a few months, maybe they fall in love, and then she heads back to her own sultry country to live out her days in charge of absolutely everything. 

I will never have such a careless view of this excerpt again. What Liz taught me is that the queen had a thirst for wisdom. Enough such that she traveled approximately 1500 miles winding through the Arabian desert toward Jerusalem. Sandy miles, probably with little opportunity for bathing. On the back of a camel. I can only imagine the discomfort. Maybe she had a palanquin. But still . . .

What makes a person choose to do such a thing? I believe as Liz explains (with more to come later in the book I’m sure so forgive me if you’ve read it and I get some of this wrong) it’s to learn the source. Where does Solomon’s wisdom originate? We of course know the answer is God because we have access to the book that tells us so. 

Why does a pagan queen with more gods than she can count care about Solomon’s wisdom and where it comes from? I believe she was compelled. Compelled by a merciful, gracious God who wants to save everyone. On her own she was perhaps curious, wanting to match wits with a legendary mind who was talked about as far away as Ma’rib. But would she really have made the trip simply to check him out? I believe it was something more. Someone she likely did not know or understand when she hopped on the back of her camel.

That’s what I’ve learned so far. From just one verse. Gotta go. I have a book to buy.

  

