If you’ve ever been in my home, you may think I don’t have a lot of “get up and go” as far as taking care of household business. Admittedly, our foyer is a jumble of mismatched shoes and boots, and enough hung and unhung jackets, sweatshirts, and ball caps to clothe a small army. It’s not that I don’t believe in housekeeping; I just don’t believe in keeping house every moment of every day, which is what would be required to keep our home looking “company ready” at all times. But I digress from what’s really on my mind today.

For those of you who work outside the home and are not self employed – Do you really work? By that, I mean do you give your employer a full 8 hours a day of your best foot forward, best quality work, and positive attitude? We all have “those days” where our attitudes get the better of us and our productivity is less than it could be, but this should be a rarity. When you receive your paycheck, it is for services rendered, not for simply showing up. And speaking of showing up, make sure you do. Regularly. On time. According to the schedule given to you by your employer.

My parents, who are blessedly retired, are both excellent examples of people who chose to give their work their very best every day. I had no idea while growing up that their day in, day out example of going to work and working hard would be such a blessing and a motivator for my own life. They went to work on time and stayed late when needed. They spent their work hours working, and heaven help me if I made a personal call to their place of business because I couldn’t figure out where to find something in the house.

So, while I’m enjoying my Sunday afternoon leisure on the couch, my brain niggles at me that I have to go to work tomorrow. And I can put off that unappealing thought for now and continue to go about my day with all the things I’d rather be doing. But starting tomorrow morning, the focus goes on work and stays there. Because that’s how I was taught. And I’m grateful.

time clock

