Empowered, according to Webster, means to give power or authority. What about those of us who need to receive empowerment? Where do we find it?

Only Daughter and I started an online bible study today called Made to Crave. The point is that relationship with God is what we crave above all, and by accepting and maintaining that “right relationship” (my term), we can transform our not so desirable cravings into desire for Him. (Forgive me Proverbs 31 Ministries for totally botching that synopsis of your wonderful online bible study.)

The study includes a word of the week, and–you guessed it–this week’s word is empoweredI don’t know what to do with that word. Inner strength I understand. I have that, and I use it. A lot. Especially when life gets messy. Brain power I understand. I can think my way around and through just about anything.

But I don’t understand empowered. I examine the word from every angle but I can’t grasp what it means for me. Since it’s given, do I need to wait for somebody to give it to me? That doesn’t feel right. Certainly I should be able to pull myself up by the proverbial boot straps and empower myself, right? Wrong. At least I’m pretty sure that’s wrong.

By lining up priorities, basing them on my relationship with Christ, I will become empowered. Even on days like today when I can’t find my purse or my coffee cup and I’m too tired to use that brain power I was bragging about.

Stay tuned. At the end of 6 weeks, we can all find out if I have a better understanding of what it means to be empowered. Oh, and check out the attached video. It might make you cry, but it will also set off a spark of empowerment.

 

 

