Friends and family may be surprised to learn My Christmas Card to You by The Partridge Family is one of my very favorite Christmas songs. You may ask why. In fact, you may ask why more than once.

The answer: Brenda. My only sister. The best ever sister. And while she may not (at first glance) appreciate my linking her to The Partridge Family, she should be assured there are a lot of good reasons for this. All having to do with memories. Good memories. Truly awesome growing up memories.

Christmas break circa 1981:

  • Endless card games.
  • Guiding Light.
  • Christmas TV specials.
  • Shrinky dinks.
  • Bobby Sherman – Think worst Christmas trick ever played on a younger sister who was expecting the latest Billy Joel album.
  • Snowmobiling with a minor crash or two.
  • Ice skating.
  • Hot chocolate in the “new no-drip coffee maker.”
  • Decorating the tree.
  • Stringing popcorn – Not nearly as fun or nostalgic as it looks.
  • The Girl With the Red Glasses – Back in the ’70s, there was a series of holiday specials with this girl named Addie. They were weird but we watched them because–hey–there were only 3 channels. I have no idea the name of them, but we always called the episodes The Girl With the Red Glasses. Anybody else recall these?
  • The Waltons Christmas Homecoming – We could have our own VH1 show with made-up commentary to make the show a lot more interesting.
  • Christmas shopping – Remember when Moose Lake stores were open late on Friday nights and Christmas music played from speakers on the corner by Coast to Coast (now Poor Gary’s)?
  • Gingerbread men. 
  • Codeine – The year I had 4 teeth pulled and was on heavy doses of codeine. Interestingly, it didn’t make me tired–just overly outgoing and very funny. (Blondie – The Tide is High [and so am I])
  • Christmas music.

And Christmas music is where we find The Partridge Family. We listened to a wide variety of Christmas music every holiday season, but only Brenda owned The Partridge Family – A Partridge Family Christmas. Believe it or not, it had some good stuff. 

Brenda may not remember our holiday breaks exactly as I do, but we shared a lot of laughs and lot of love, and woven throughout these times in my memory bank, The Partridge Family is singing My Christmas Card to You.

Brenda – Cheers and Merry Christmas! I miss you and I miss those days!!

 

