The Challenge: Day 3

What part of the body does the breastplate protect? You guessed it (well maybe some if you did). The heart!

Throughout the bible we are told to guard our hearts, that our hearts are the wellspring of life. Sounds like something worth protecting to me!

So what is the breastplate of righteousness? Let’s start with what it isn’t. It is not the breastplate of self-righteousness. In other words, this armor is not designed to protect narrow-minded moralistic values based on how we view ourselves compared to others.

So to whose righteousness does the breastplate speak? God’s of course. Because his righteousness is built on truth and is infallible.

The breastplate is a defensive piece of armor. It guards us. It guards our heart. So Christ doesn’t just say, “Hey, don’t forget to guard your heart.” He gives us the equipment to do the job, but it’s our responsibility to wear it.

We don this

bulletproof vest

by living God’s way, encircling ourselves with His truth (remember the belt?).

I’m working on my armor. Some days it’s on; some days it’s off, but I’m becoming more cognizant that it exists, and I don’t want to leave home without it.

And I did pray today. I can’t say I’m a warrior in that arena (yet?) but I’m practicing.

