Day 1 of the 7-Day Prayer Warrior Challenge. Today was mostly homework and research. A good way for me to inch myself into this since I have a short attention span.

First if one is going to be a warrior, there must be a war. And there is. A spiritual war in which our enemy prowls about seeking to devour (maim, harm, kill, destroy, manipulate) us. It’s easy to go through life unaware of the battles in our midst. But if we want to truly live, we must be aware and prepared.

Fortunately, we are not left to our own devices. We’ve been given a list (see Ephesians 6) of necessary battle gear.

One thing I learned today is that this armor must be put on daily. Of course it does! I mean what kind of a soldier doesn’t put on her protective stuff before the heat fires up? No wonder I’m getting beat up. I’m venturing into the battle zone in sneakers and shorts.

Time to change. But first I have to figure out what this armor is and what it does.

In the First Century, Rome was the dominant world power and her soldiers sported the protective gear to show it. The Apostle Paul who authored Ephesians 6, modeled this biblical armor after that of the Roman army.

Paul also says (Ephesians 6:13),

Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.

When the battle is over, I definitely want to be the one left standing. So whether I’m defending or attacking, I’d better have on my armor–all of it.

20131022-194325.jpg

