There comes a time when things have to change. I am in such a time. The change I need to evoke is (drum roll) doing things with people. Yup. Simply choosing to engage. I’m sure you extroverts are shaking your collective social animal heads. But for those of you who share an introverted nature, you likely understand where I’m coming from.

A friend recently posted on Facebook a list of “surprising attributes of introverts” or something similarly titled. It was no surprise to me that I have 22 of the 23 characteristics. They are good qualities. Just different from those of you who are are mostly extroverted. 

I don’t feel like I need to conquer my introverted nature, but I do admit the habitual way I manage myself does lead toward selfish tendencies. They may start out as protections, such as insulating myself from situations that I am not comfortable in, but they can easily develop into isolation and spending time doing only what I want.

Last weekend there was a potential opportunity to spend time with people I love. I like doing that. But I was in the  mode of wanting quiet, uninterrupted leisure time for myself. I recognized it for maybe the first time ever and so agreed instead to make the hard choice and engage with others on their time frame. You’re probably expecting that I had some sort of epiphany. I didn’t because the get-together didn’t work out. But, I did have the satisfaction of knowing that I made the effort, would have seen it through, and would have enjoyed myself. Instead of p-u-l-l-i-n-g b-a-c-k.

Another opportunity has presented itself for the near future. This one has some jumping through hoops to make it work. But you know what? I’m going to do it. And I want to do it. It was just a matter of making up my mind that I can do things outside of myself and acknowledging there is some danger in shutting everyone out.

In this new chapter of my faith journey, I’m not sure where I’m going but the promise of goodness is there.

By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to a place that he was to receive as an inheritance. And he went out, not knowing where he was going. (Hebrews 11:8)

 

Image

