Trust – According to Dictionary.com:

  • reliance on the integrity, strength, ability, surety, etc., of a person or thing; confidence.
  • confident expectation of something; hope.
  • a person or thing on whom one relies.

Do I trust? Well, that depends. Do I trust that my kids are telling me the truth? Usually I do. Even if the explanation is pretty thin. My husband tells me often that my confidence in their truth telling is remarkable. That said, that I need to “wise up.” Do I trust the mail that tells me I’m an “instant winner”? No way. Do I trust my always late friend when she promises she’ll be “on the dot”? Not a chance. And it’s okay because I love her anyway.

I could go on and on with examples from home, my workplace, and the community. But the only question that really matters is, Do I trust God?

Absolutely. Maybe. I thought I did.

You see, I’m going through a time right now that I don’t particularly like. I’ve been stepping out in a renewed faith, believing in a good outcome. Calling my belief trust, though, is a stretch. In my current scenario, I don’t have enough of something. Seriously. I just flat out don’t. I no longer have something that has always made me comfortable and on which I could depend pretty steadily.

So here I am adrift from something that has been a steady presence. I’m taking the faith steps to believe that God is always good and is working a good outcome (perchance a miracle?) in my life and before tonight I would have told you that I was living in trust.

That was before it confronted me head on. And I realized that I say the right things and sometimes I even believe the right things, but there are days when I don’t. Days still when I ask God, “where are you?” and I wonder if He really is going to come through for me and why I’m not seeing the specific outcomes that I’ve been expecting.

That isn’t trust. Here is what the Bible says about trust:

But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. Psalm 13:5

Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him and He will do this: He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noonday sun. Psalm 37:5-6

When I am afraid, I will trust in you. Psalm 56:3

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul. Psalm 143:8

What I learn from the Bible is that my decision to trust has to come before His promised outcome. Instead, I’ve been waiting for Him to show me what He can do and then I can confidently say, “See, I knew God would come through for me.”

I’ve been getting the trust piece backward. Guess I’ll close Dictionary.com and root myself in God’s unfailing Word, for victory is assured.

Cross of Victory

