Waiting. I wrote just a couple of days ago about waiting on The Lord. Waiting for His timing and praising Him while doing so. Even when it’s hard.

I’m really wrestling with waiting tonight. I’ve been waiting for something specific for months. I know the end is near. And I’m anxious to get my hands into the mix–to press for an early outcome.

Over the last two days, there have been glimmers of hope, moments of fear that emotional devastation is near, and uncertainty.

I still believe what I said about waiting, but I’m having some trouble putting it into practice right now. So I searched for another focus.

I grew up in a church where we sang hymns every Sunday and I remember parts of most of them. I was mulling a few over in my brain tonight and was trying to remember the words to Standing on the Promises of God. I couldn’t remember anything except the title, so I Googled the lyrics.

Verse 2 speaks what I need right now:

Standing on the promises that cannot fail,
When the howling storms of doubt and fear assail,
By the Living Word of God, I shall prevail, Standing on the promises of God. (music and lyrics by R. Kelso Carter)

When I find the waiting hard, I’m going to choose to stand.

