I’m stuck. Stuck in the book of Romans that is. Specifically chapter 8. When I look up the word “stuck” in the dictionary, I read it is the “past and past participle of stick.” Huh?

So much for academia. I gave up on finding a suitable definition of stuck and looked up the word immovable in its place. I wouldn’t say my hanging out in Romans is because I am immovable, but since I liked one of the definitions, I’m sticking with it. Here it is: “Not intended to be moved.”

That’s exactly right. I am stuck in Romans because God doesn’t intend to move me out of that chapter of the bible until I believe every verse with every fiber of my being.

If you’ve had Romans 8:28 “up to here” with me, just stick it out a little longer. Today I’m referencing Romans 8:26-28 in The Message translation, which gives us a different set of words but still promises that God is our Champion.

Meanwhile, the moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along (ties into yesterday’s theme, right?). If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant (expectant) condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good. Romans 8:26-28 The Message (emphasis mine)

This is one time in my life I’m happy to be stuck. Where better to be stuck than on a promise from the One who never breaks His Word?

