Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD. Psalm 27:14 (NIV)

I hate waiting, and I’m not overly interested in advice as to how to become a better “waiter.” Nevertheless, I find myself in a current season of waiting. I’m not very adept at navigating through these waiting periods. My mode of operation used to simply be not to wait, even if I believed with every fiber of my being that I ought to. I then graduated to practicing the art of waiting, which really means I waited about half a day and if I didn’t get my way, I made things happen.

When this new waiting season fell upon me like a ton of bricks, my reaction was to assess what I might be able to manipulate in order to have a quick outcome. Positive or negative. Just done! It hasn’t worked out that way. The Lord has given me a lengthy opportunity to wait on Him, and like it or not here I am. Waiting. And I wonder what’s in it for me. Seriously, it’s not something I like to publicly admit, but I do have an overly vested interest in myself.

I knew that for today’s post I would write about Psalm 27:14, but I had no idea what direction it would take. I typed out the verse as I know it, then referenced it online to see what other translations had to say. That’s when I saw something new.

Wait on the LORD. Be courageous, and he will strengthen your heart. Wait on the LORD! Psalm 27:14 (ISV)

Do you see it? He will strengthen your heart. 

I don’t need muster up the strength (or patience) to wait; He gives it to me. Suddenly, waiting doesn’t seem quite as hard or unpleasant as it did just moments ago.

You are either in a waiting season right now or you are headed for one in the future. Try Him and see that He is good, that He will strengthen your heart, that in the bleakest of times He is enough.

