Romans 8:28.

I was speaking with a family member yesterday about the hardness of life. A friend had committed suicide. Another had chosen the same earlier in the summer. We talked about how hard it is to believe in a benevolent God, or even God at all, when these incredibly sad, hopeless events occur.

It is exactly the hope of Christ that brought me to the writing of this blog. The past 11 months have brought some of the greatest difficulties that I have ever experienced in my personal life. It’s been h.a.r.d. Eight months ago, I would have said it was unbearable. And that’s exactly when the Holy Spirit whispered into my heart that it was time to stop fighting against what I could not control. And I was reminded of the promise of Romans 8:28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.

And things got harder. And the disappointments rained down until I thought I couldn’t stand it. And the Spirit whispered Romans 8:28 again. And I didn’t think I could believe it.

Then I learned the secret, which really isn’t a secret at all–just a direction I didn’t like. Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 1 Thessalonians 5:18

And this time, I did. And I kept doing it.

All the things that started pressing down on me and my loved ones 11 months ago have not let up, and I’m still hating the circumstances and the ridiculousness that is woven through all of it.

But in choosing to praise, to give thanks, and to trust (and it is a choice–one that is often hard to make), He moves me beyond the immediate circumstances. He reminds me that one of His many names is Jehovah Jireh, the Almighty God Who Provides to those who trust Him to do so. And I do.

I can do so only because He’s brought me to a place where I have to. There has been no other choice. And it’s been the greatest blessing of my life.

I encourage you to fling all of your hope on Him and experience the relief of knowing that your life is not in the hands of the ones making you miserable but in the hands of The One who PROMISES he is working it all out for GOOD.

ALWAYS.

