Labor Day Monday signals my new year. It simply makes more sense to me to reflect and celebrate a year of change on this date rather than the traditional January 1.

This is the weekend I kiss summer goodbye and set my mind on changes for the coming season. It’s both a sad and a celebratory weekend. I will miss the freedom of summer, but I need the structure the fall season brings.

It’s nostalgic. As we prepare for the coming school year, I marvel that our boys are becoming young men and that our daughter has already spread her wings and joyfully flown from the nest.

It’s bittersweet to catch that whiff of crisp morning air; such a welcome, refreshing sensation, yet signaling the end of a 3-month respite from busy schedules and a whisper of the winter to come.

Whatever this weekend means to you–endings, beginnings, a day off work, “just another weekend”–know that this day and any day can be a fresh start for you because Our Lord has made that promise.

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end;they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. Lamentations 3:22-23 (NIV)

 

Great is His faithfulness. Don’t forget to praise Him. Therein lies your peace.

Blessings, Cindy

