It’s easy for me to get lost in life. To feel small, sometimes inconsequential. I all too often forget that God cares about my thoughts, my fears, my heart. I get so caught up in taking care of everyday business that I find life tiring and–honestly–a little pointless at times.

What’s a girl who is a cynic, a pessimist, and melancholy by nature to do?

Put herself last, that’s what. I must flex my mental muscles and make a conscious decision to choose worship rather than whining. When I follow this prescription, the payoff is tremendous. My cares become smaller next to the enormous power of Christ. The urgency I have to list all of my grievances to whoever will listen dissipates. I am restored from the physical and mental weariness that I have exacted on myself by following my “to do” list.

In putting myself last, my true identity is restored. I am not random.

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. Psalm 139:13 (NIV)

Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; you are Mine. Isaiah 43:1 (HCSB)

You were created on purpose and you have a purpose. The next time you feel like whining (or screaming or crying), turn to your Lord. Praise Him and thank Him for where you are in that moment, knowing that you are not random and He is working all things in your life for His good purposes.

 

